Denied Party Digest

Valuable information about denied party screening

Ethiopia Sanctions Regulations Issued, Include Government of Eritrea

On February 9, 2022 (87 FR 7374), the Department of the Treasury's Office of Foreign Assets Control (OFAC) issued the Ethiopia Sanctions Regulations.  These regulations formalize the sanctions program previously announced in September 2021 and incorporate three previously-issued General Licenses.

Summarizing the situation in Ethiopia, the rule states:

The widespread humanitarian crisis precipitated by the violent conflict in northern Ethiopia has left millions of people in need of humanitarian assistance and has placed an entire region on the brink of famine. While maintaining pressure on those persons responsible for the crisis, the United States will seek to ensure that appropriate personal remittances to non-blocked persons and humanitarian assistance to at-risk populations can flow to Ethiopia and the greater Horn of Africa region through legitimate and transparent channels, including governments, international organizations, and non-profit organizations. The United States supports ongoing international efforts to promote a negotiated ceasefire and political resolution of this crisis, to ensure the withdrawal of Eritrean forces from Ethiopia, and to promote the unity, territorial integrity, and stability of Ethiopia.

The regulations (and previously, the Executive Order) authorize sanctions against listed individuals and entities contributing to the conflict in Ethiopia, including the governments of Ethiopia and Eritrea and a number of other organizations.  Persons who are blocked under this program are added to OFAC’s Specially Designated Nationals and Blocked Persons List (SDN List).

For more information, OFAC maintains a page for Ethiopia-Related Sanctions.